Feelings Change

How quickly your feelings change
One minute you’re missing me
The next you could easily live without me
Yet I try and try and try
But your meaningless texts
The coldness in your tone
The emptiness in your hugs
The spaces in our conversations
The many calls left unanswered
They should all have been a sign
Maybe I love love too much
Give people the benefit of doubt too often
Maybe you are simply just too busy
Or maybe I’m just too good at overthinking
I wish we could go back to that very moment
Where we were laying on your couch
With the knitted blanket clearly too small for the both of us
You confessed your love to me
While I rested my weary head on your chest
I should have opened up and love you back
Perhaps a part of me already knew
That this would come to an end soon
So why even bother

Leave a comment