Bittersweet

Everything happens for a reason
That’s what I keep telling myself
Over and over and over again
When will it ever end

Never maybe or after a while
When memories begin to fade
And thoughts no longer occupy my mind
Though forever wounded and scarred for life

What doesn’t kill you makes you strong
Funny how people say that, don’t you think
A hard lesson, I truly admit
But school is out, and i’m done learning

How i’m done yearning, too
So here’s to me, and here’s to you
Here’s to fate, that’s been messing with my mind
But most of all, here’s to a bittersweet goodbye

Leave a Reply

