It Must’ve Been Love

You and me
Both barely 21
Forever young
I had my fun
You had yours
You said you loved me
I was speechless
Not because I was moved
But because I didn’t know
The meaning of love
The meaning of us
And somehow
Somewhere
Someone
Could be the one
For you
For me
We were never meant to be
I knew it from the get-go
But you started to love me
A long long time ago
And I got carried away
Thought I loved you back
But that
Was never my intention
I fooled myself
Thinking this would be forever
But forever is never long enough
Than it should be
Than it supposed to be
I thought I loved you deeply
But I knew it wasn’t so
Then when I finally came around
Let my guard down
Believing this might be it for me
I should probably just give up
Give you all my heart
I mean, who could love me better
Than you
But you had to fall in love
With someone else
With my heart so broken
Betrayed
Filled with sadness
Hatred
Stupidness
Guilt and disgust
I knew
I must have loved you after all

Leave a Reply

