Someone Like Me

I haven’t seen you in years
Now suddenly you had to come back
And turn my life upside down
Why’d you have to go and do all that?

I’ve settled down, found myself a nice man
I’m married now, I’m sorry
All my dreams came true
They just didn’t include you

We’ve known each other since we were kids
So young and yet so in love
Together we could rule the world
People didn’t understand us

As we grew older, we became wiser
We knew we would never last
We knew things would eventually end
I knew you had to leave and break out of this town

Don’t worry, you’ll find someone like me one day
Someone who will love you unconditionally
I wish nothing but the best for you
Just forget me
Cause sometimes it lasts in love
Sometimes it hurts instead

You walk in the door
I see your face like it was yesterday
Why’d you have to remind me that you and I…
Things never ended did they

So come on in, my dear old friend
I can shake your lovely hands
But I won’t kiss you, not even on your cheeks
I don’t think I can ever go there again

Don’t worry, you’ll find someone like me one day
Someone who will love you unconditionally
I wish nothing but the best for you
Just forget me
Cause sometimes it lasts in love
Sometimes it hurts instead

Don’t get me wrong, I have no regrets
But I just don’t want to be reminded either
That you and I could have worked
Had you been listening to me back then
But it’s okay, I moved on
Clearly you haven’t
But I can’t seem to help myself
Why did you have to come back…

Leave a Reply

