Hero

I was a hero
I was your hero
No one told me though
Of my tainted soul

I was everybody’s hero
But who was mine, nobody seemed to know
Nobody could warn me though
That I would die alone

People told me I should be so happy
I had my two children, my wife, my family
I knew I had it all and yet I had nothing
Just a deep longing for that special something

I thought maybe I could be my own hero
Instead I knew my destiny was to go
To leave this life, my home
My destiny was to die alone

And alone I was with my thoughts
Praying, begging my own God
To give me back peace
To bring me back a piece of me

I’m sorry I couldn’t be anyone’s hero
I am most sorry that I couldn’t be your hero
Deep down you knew I had to go out on my own
I had to leave this place we call our home

Let me be my own hero
Let me prove I can be a hero
Maybe one day I can be a hero
Your hero

2 thoughts on “Hero

  1. I would LOVE for u to check out my “Creative Playground” tab on my blog and click on my site “Social Muze”! It’s a little site I put together for my blog and AllPoetry dot com friends to talk about and share art, photography, poetry etc… 🙂 I would love for you to be a part of it! At least take a peak 🙂 I will def be back!!! 🙂
    Kellie

Leave a Reply

