The Break Up

You tell me you don’t know who you are
You tell me you’re so lost without me
Just take a deep breath and listen to your heart
Pass the hurt and all these tears, you will let go of me

I’m sorry, but I’m not picking up the phone
I will only hurt you even more, and I don’t mean to
So with my hidden tears and all my secret emotions, I’ll leave you alone
One day you will thank me for letting you be loved by someone who truly deserves you

I don’t mean to hurt you, because this thing we thought we had ain’t right
It’s just that we both know we’re not meant to be
So I’ll be the bad guy here, and I’ll end this fight
Live your life and just forget about me

You can think ill of me, if that helps you moving on
You can hate me too, if that helps anything at all
Hope you’ll drift away to someone you do belong
Someone who will be there to catch you when you fall

So don’t come around looking for me, demanding to see me
Cause I don’t want you to linger in our past
I don’t want you to fall in love all over again with me
Nothing you can do or say can save what we had

17 thoughts on “The Break Up

  1. hello william here from jingles poetry thursday, wow, there was a lot of emotions in this piece, relationships are up and down, its life, great post ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Love it, completely agree with brian miller, truly emotional peace. i have written few along these lines myself mostly short sonnets, many on the darker side of life as well as inspirational pieces of moving on. I am glad to see poems like this out there. ๐Ÿ˜€ makes me feel like i am not the only one. >.> take care and hope to read more of your work soon.

Leave a Reply

