Your Photograph

I saw a photo of you today
You look like the day we first met
Like it was yesterday
I was rather occupied
You just wanted to know my name
I never cared for yours
But you stuck around anyway
Just in case I’d change my mind
Somehow I did
Maybe because you were cute
Or maybe it was just the booze
But I knew I wanted to get to know you
See past the name
Past the pretty face
It took me a while
For me to see past the photograph
I know why I do not wish to go back
To those happy days
Our happy ways
You holding back
Me being in doubt
Tired of leading
Tired of speaking
Tired of believing
Now I’m just tired
Of looking at your photograph

Leave a Reply

