When We Were Young

When we were young
I used to love you
Adore you
I even idolised you
Showed you off everywhere we went
I fell for your naivity
And the fact that you loved me

When we were young
You taught me how to love
You taught me ways of live
Yes you’ve changed me
And everyone could see
How much you meant to me

When we were young
We used to laugh and hold hands
Forever friends
Forever love
Forever us

When we were young
Never thought we’d get older
Be smarter and even wiser
But you let your guard down one day
Let me see through your disguise
What an unbelievable lie

Now that we’re older
Smarter and wiser
We’ve parted ways
For reasons unknown
Maybe I loved you too much
Maybe I adored you too much
Maybe I idolised you too much
Or maybe we should have held hands more
Laughed more

Now that we’re older
I miss you even more
It’s a shame being unable to change the past
Or stay in the past
But maybe, just maybe
This is for the best

Leave a Reply

